To allow your users to view restricted content in your hosted knowledge-base, but want to prevent the public from viewing that content, we use what's called Single Sign On (or SSO for short).

The process is that a user will first visit your hosted knowledge base and click on a login link in your sites header (or in the main area if they're trying to access locked content).

We will direct the user to your site, where you check if they are logged in to your system, and if they are, return them back to the hosted Knowledge Base with a special token that lets us know who they are and that are to be trusted.

We'll them treat them as being logged in, and open up access to content that their information grants them access to.

For information on specifically how to achieve this, please see Setting up Knowledge Base SSO.